The St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association panel of selectors have released the names of the thirteen players who will be representing the island in the 2019 WINLOTT Windward Islands Under-15 cricket tournament, now scheduled to be held in St. Vincent and the Grenadines December 10 – 19, 2019.

The thirteen players chosen are Devonte McDowall, Kodi Grant, Reynolly Hillocks, AJ Delpheshe, Kevin Shallow, Zack Thomas, Alston Bobb, Javon Richardson, Luke Brown, Elran Glasgowm Sam Burke, Kevin Joseph, and Dexroy Hooper.

The coach is Bertram Stapleton, with Kenroy Martin as his assistant. Samuel Holder is the team’s manager.

The squad began training a few months ago, but the coaches had to contend with numerous disruptions to the training programme, brought about by the weather and school commitment. Added were constraints faced in having the players assembled in one location, because of distances to their homes, as they each reside in different communities.

There was also the conditions of training venue, disruptions brought about by the International Masters Cricket Tournament, which caused grounds to be unavailable for two weeks.

All of this forced the management and coaching staff to periodically adjust their plans, so the training programme were not executed properly the way their would have liked.

In recent weeks, the schools’ weekly exams interrupted whatever training programmes which were planned, but the coaching and management staff are hopeful that they will be able to get full sessions in the last two weeks before the tournament.

Two weeks ago a weekend camp was held in Cumberland, and another is scheduled to be held this weekend at Parkhill. This the coaching and management staff hopes will sharpen the skills of the thirteen players, as St. Vincent and the Grenadines hope to capture the 2019 WINLOTT Windward Islands Under-15 cricket title at home.