The Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Commerce held its Awards and Prize-Giving Ceremony for its 2019 Essay Writing Competition on Friday, May 31, 2019. The ceremony was held at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Trade & Commerce’s Conference Room.

The Minister of National Mobilization, the Hon. Frederick Stephenson, Permanent Secretary, Mrs. Sandy Peters-Phillips, along with senior officials, principals, and teachers, students and parents were there to witness the students’ accomplishments. The competition was sponsored by Digicel, represented at the ceremony by Country Manager, Ms. Fanta Williams. Hon. Frederick Stephenson, Permanent Secretary, Mrs. Sandy Peters-Phillips and Ms. Fanta Williams delivered remarks at the Awards and Prize-Giving ceremony.

The participating primary schools were: Brighton Methodist School, Kingstown Preparatory School and the Lowmans Leeward Anglican School. The participating secondary schools were: Bishop’s College Kingstown, Buccament Bay Secondary School, St. Vincent Girls’ High School, St. Vincent Grammar School and the Thomas Saunders Secondary School. The St. Vincent and the Grenadines Community College was the only participating tertiary institution.

The competition was divided into two (2) categories: The Envoys category (Age range of 9 – 13 years) and the Ambassadors category (Age range of 14 – 18 years). The prizes for the Envoys Category were: 1st -Trophy, Phone & EC$300.00, 2nd – Trophy, Phone & EC$200 and 3rd -Trophy, Phone & EC$100.

The prizes for the Ambassadors Category were: 1st – Trophy, Phone & EC$500.00, 2nd – Trophy, Phone & EC$400.00, 3rd – Trophy, Phone & EC$300.00.

The St. Vincent Girls’ High School took the 1st, 2nd and 4th positions in the Ambassadors category. Miss Milan Compton won 1st place, Miss Mikayla Friday won 2nd place, and Miss Zuania Baptiste won 4th place. Cimalon Alexander won 3rd place for his essay and Miss Aaliyah Henry won 5th place. They both represented the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Community College.

For the Envoys category, Ms. Ajani Dyer of the Girls’ High School won 1st place, Jhamai Henry of the Lowmans Leeward Anglican School took the 2nd Prize, Jode G. Glasgow of the Bishop’s College Kingstown won the 3rd place and Jair Patrick of the St. Vincent Grammar School won 4th place with Tyler Matthias of the Kingstown Preparatory School placing 5th in the competition.

The participants for this year’s competition were each given a certificate of participation, commendation or distinction based on their overall score.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Trade & Commerce takes this opportunity once again to congratulate the winners and the participants of this year’s Annual Essay Writing Competition. The Ministry also takes this opportunity to express its appreciation to Digicel for its sponsorship and continued support.

The Ministry’s Annual Essay Writing Competition is an initiative by the Ministry to foster its continued growth among the youths in understanding the importance of learning, writing, reading, researching and most importantly diplomacy and foreign relations.

In addition to the prizes that were won, the Ministry published a Special Edition of its Diplomatic Courier for the top 5 winners in each category.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.