D-Day! St Vincent Vies For Non-Permanent Member On UN Security Council

St Vincent and the Grenadines will today vie to become the smallest island nation to sit as a non-permanent member on the UN security council.

The campaign went into its final stages this week, and Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves will addresses the UN this morning.

In accordance with Article 23 of the Charter, as amended, [By an amendment dated 17 December 1963 (resolution 1991 A (XVIII)), which came into force on 31 August 1965, the General Assembly increased the number of non-permanent members of the Security Council from 6 to 10.

The Security Council consists of five permanent members (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America) and 10 non-permanent members elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years.

In order to win a two-year mandate beginning in January, St Vincent needs to secure two-thirds of the votes of nations casting their paper ballots from 10:00 am (1400 GMT).


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.