2018 ECGC Foundation Inc Bursary Awards For DTVE Students

The St Vincent and the Grenadines Community College (SVGCC): Division of Technical and Vocational Education (DTVE) has entered its third year of partnerships with the East Caribbean Group of Companies (ECGC) Foundation Inc. to provide needy students with financial assistance this 2018-2019 academic year.

On October 10th, 2018, eight students formed the third group of scholarship recipients of the ECGC Foundation Bursary, a scholarship scheme which awards students with EC$1500.00 to cover registration and programme fees.

 The awardees are Jovonce Cato, Sharana Harry, Aaliyah Nero, Daamian Walters, Stevan Bowens, Jasseim Edwards, Christel Charles and Ossama Ollivierre. They are all first year students pursuing Certificate and Applied Associate Degree programmes in Agricultural Science and Entrepreneurship, Business Studies: Sales and Marketing, Automotive Repairs Technology, and Electrical Engineering Technology.

Director of the ECGC Mr Dixton Findlay, and Human Resource Manager Mrs Phyllis James were present at the award ceremony during which a cheque of EC$9,600.00 was handed over to Ms Janelle Allen, Vice Dean of the DTVE.

Mr Findlay challenged students to give of their best, referencing the motto of the SVGCC “Nothing Limits Excellence” as being very similar to that of the ECGC “Excellence through Teamwork.”

He encouraged all students to make good use of the investment in their education so that they may reap the benefits in the long term.

The SVGCC remains grateful to the ECGC Foundation for their continued partnership and investment in student development and vocational training.