No-deal Brexit could hit travellers to the Caribbean

(CNS) – British citizens may face restrictions on travel to several French and Dutch overseas territories, including the Caribbean islands of Martinique, Guadeloupe, St Martin and St Barthelemy, if the UK leaves the EU on Friday without a deal.

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) has issued updated travel alerts, warning that the situation for Britons visiting several French and Dutch-owned destinations after April 12 was uncertain.

The others are Reunion and Mayotte in the Indian Ocean, New Caledonia and French Polynesia in the Pacific, and French Guiana off the coast of South America, plus St Maarten, Bonaire, Curacao and Aruba.

The Foreign Office said it was working with the relevant authorities to clarify entry requirements for British nationals to these islands if Britain leaves the EU on Friday as planned. At the moment, British citizens can visit French and Dutch overseas territories without a visa, but the FCO said this might change.

It said it would update its travel advice ‘as soon as further information is available’.

Travellers who need further details in the meantime should contact the French Embassy or the Dutch Embassy in London, depending on their intended destination, it said.