COVID-19: Ecuador Declares ‘State of Emergency’ in Eight Provinces

Restrictions on movement and outside activities will be in place for 30 days in this Andean country.

Ecuador’s President Lenin Moreno on Thursday imposed a 30-days state of emergency in eight provinces to curb the pandemic.

Azuay, Guayas, El Oro, Esmeraldas, Manabi, Pichincha, Loja, and Santo Domingo de Los Tsachilas must observe new restrictions due to the rebound of infections and hospital overcrowding.

Besides no on-site working for public sector employees, residents in these provinces must obey a curfew from 8 pm to 5 am starting next week.

There is also a ban on the sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages. Outside activities in parks, cinemas, theaters, gyms, and sports fields are prohibited.

Restrictions will not apply to people who work in the health, emergency services, garbage collection, security, food production, and export sectors.

Ecuador will hold the second presidential elections runoff on April 11. The state of emergency in these territories cannot restrict political participation. Local electoral authorities must take measures to guarantee the electoral process.

On Thursday, the COVID-19 vaccination campaign started for police officers, teachers, the Military, and other sectors.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.