SVG Automatically Qualify To Access Covid-19 Vaccine Alliance

24 Caribbean countries that will benefit from the European Union’s (EU) grant of 3 million euros given to the region for the purchase of COVID-19 vaccines (COVAX) or treatments when they become available.

The countries that will benefit from the grant are all members of Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA).

The funds are to assist CARPHA Member States to meet their down payment obligations to participate in the COVAX Facility which was set up to secure COVID-19 vaccines for low-income countries.

The Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO) will receive the funds from CARPHA for transfer to the COVAX Facility on behalf of these Caribbean countries.

When the vaccines are available, Member States will purchase them through the PAHO Revolving Fund.

Signed agreement

To date, 12 CARPHA Member States have signed agreements with Gavi — the group that manages the COVAX Facility.

These countries are Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Turks and Caicos, St Kitts and Nevis, Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica, and Suriname.

CARPHA is assisting seven of these Member States with all or a portion of the required down payment.

Another six countries – Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, St Lucia, as well as St Vincent and the Grenadines – automatically qualify to access the Vaccine Alliance.

As of October 15, 2020, worldwide deaths from COVID-19 has surpassed one million, with 4,194 reported in 33 Caribbean jurisdictions.

Related Posts