Black Sands Swim Squad win at CGM Swimming Championships

Black Sands Swim Squad (BSSS) dominated the 2020 CGM Swimming Championships held at the Shrewsbury Aquatic Center from Wednesday 12th to Sunday 16th February winning overall Club Champions for the fourth consecutive year.

A total of 37 swimmers represented BSSS winning a grand total of 202 medals – 97 Gold, 56 Silver and 49 Bronze. The competition produced some record-breaking performances with most swimmers smashing their personal best times.

Kione Deshong swam in the 8 years and under category, winning 5 gold, 3 silver and 1 bronze medal and also taking the trophy for overall champion and sprint challenge. In the girls 9-10 age group, Eltonique Leonard took home the trophy for overall champion along with 11 gold, 1 silver and 1 bronze medal. In the girls 11-12 age group, Jamie Joachim won the overall champion trophy and took home 14 gold, 2 silver and 1 bronze medal. She also added herself to the record books by breaking the girls 11-12 years 100m freestyle National record previously held by Mya DeFreitas. Leading the boys 11-12 age group was Brandon George. Winning 15 gold medals made him a clear winner for the overall champions trophy and he also won the sprint challenge in the 9-12 years age category.

Mya DeFreitas put in a record-breaking performance by breaking the girls 13-14 years 1500 meter freestyle record and also the 100 meter freestyle record. Mya finished the competition winning 9 gold, 2 silver and 1 bronze medal. She also got the overall champions trophy and was the winner of the sprint challenge.  Eltonte Leonard dominated the boys 13-14 age category winning 11 gold, 1 silver and 1 bronze medal and the champions trophy.

Other medal winners were:

  Gold Silver Bronze
Kenale Alleyne 1 1 5
Matthew Ballah     3
Tristan Ballah 2 1 4
Akayla Crichton 8    
Kathryn Cumberbatch 3 8 2
Kevern DaSilva 1   4
Aaron DeFreitas 4 6 2
Abigail Deshong 2 5 3
Bryson George 4 2 3
Brescott Glynn   2  
Tia Gun-Munro   3 2
Joseph Hadley   3 4
Naira John     3
Anwar Medjahed     1
Arielle Pierre     1
Jemani Robinson   1  
Rhema Robinson 3 1 3
Tyler Robinson 3 6 2
Jayson Sandy 1 5 4
Joshua Weinhardt     1

Mia Bailey, Scarlett Hadley, Adriel Bullock, Benjamin Cyrus, Amelia and Dariana Des Vignes, Daniella Clarke, Loic and Lorenz Paul and Dru Samuel also took part in the competition.

BSSS Head Coach Kyle Dougan expressed his delight at the fantastic results from the recent competition. He also wanted to give credit and recognition to the BSSS Coaches that work with him, Anne Weinhardt, Kathleen Bute, Jo-Ann Matthews, Tanya Bullock, Fiana McMillan and Edison Stephens who all play a key role in the development of swimming in St Vincent and the Grenadines.

By News784

News784 posted this article. You can send press releases and news ideas to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *