Sunil Ambris Is First Vincentian Batsman On The WI Team Since 1956

( – In-form batsman Sunil Ambris is the new face in the West Indies test cricket squad for their tour of New Zealand.

The 24-year-old from St Vincent played a solitary one-day international against England in September, scoring 38 not out off 27 balls, but wasn’t part of the test squad who just completed a 1-0 series win in Zimbabwe.

Ambris, fresh from dual first-class centuries for West Indies A against Sri Lanka A in the Caribbean last month, replaces Kyle Hope who was dropped after scoring 16, 43 and 1 in the two tests in Bulawayo.

“This is on the basis of his consistent performances across formats and his outstanding returns for the Windies ‘A’ team in the ‘test’ series against Sri Lanka ‘A’. This type of consistency is very welcomed by the panel,” chairman of selectors Courtney Browne said of Ambris, who averages 31 from 38 first-class matches.

West Indies haven’t won a test in New Zealand since 1995, by an innings and 322 runs in Wellington. In 10 subsequent tests between the sides in this country, the Black Caps have won six and drawn four, with the latest series a 2-0 win for the hosts in December 2013, in Wellington and Hamilton.

The tour squad have a training camp until November 21 in Brisbane, before flying to Christchurch where they meet New Zealand A in a warm-up match at Lincoln from November 25-27.

West Indies test squad: Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite (vice-captain), Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kieran Powell, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach.


November 25-27: Tour match v New Zealand A at Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln

December 1-5: 1st test at Basin Reserve, Wellington

Dec 9-13: 2nd test at Seddon Park, Hamilton

Dec 20: 1st ODI at Cobham Oval, Whangerei

Dec 23: 2nd ODI at Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Dec 26: 3rd ODI at Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Dec 29: 1st Twenty20 at Saxton Oval, Nelson

January 1: 2nd T20 at Bay Oval, Tauranga

Jan 3: 3rd T20 at Bay Oval, Tauranga

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.