29 national scholarship awardees will be recognized Wednesday 25th

The Ministry of Education, National Reconciliation and Ecclesiastical Affairs is pleased to announce the names of the recipients of the National Awards for the academic year 2016/2017.

The following twenty-nine (29) students are deemed to have the best claims to these awards based on their performance in the May/June 2017 Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations (CAPE) of the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC).


  1. Kairel Edwards
  2. Thandi Myers
  3. Abigail Scott
  4. Kayenna Bullock
  5. Lashontae Shepherd
  6. Jeremiah Augustus
  7. Kadeem De Shong
  8. Milieko Edwards
  9. Che Grant
  10. Shannique Alleyne
  11. Christian Friday Alexcia Burgin
  12. Chrislon Fraser
  13. Mikhailla Matthias
  14. Michaela Miguel
  15. Daree Myers


  1. Kamla David
  2. Arielle Roberts
  3. Tahleze Marksman
  4. Akeem Muhammad
    1. Toni Pompey
    2. Donley Stapleton
    3. Rhaine Williams


    1. Justene Farrell
    2. Shania Leslie
    3. Ariel Lewis
    4. Dorien Antrobus
    5. Darron Farrell
    6. Teron Pope

    The most outstanding awardees are Kairel Edwards, Thandi Myers and Abigail Scott. They gained the following passes in the CXC: Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations (CAPE).

    Kairel Edwards Thandi Myers Abigail Scott
    Biology Caribbean Studies Biology
    Caribbean Studies Chemistry Caribbean Studies
    Chemistry Communication Studies Chemistry
    Communication Studies Geography Communication Studies
    Physics Physics Physics
    Pure Mathematics Pure Mathematics Pure Mathematics

    Each awardee will receive the Prime Minister’s Award for her performance in the examinations.
    Recipients of the National Scholarship receive full funding for a five-year period of study.
    Recipients of the Exhibition awards receive three years full funding for their studies, while Bursary awardees receive twenty thousand dollars each year for a three-year period.

The awardees will be recognized on Wednesday, October 25th, 2017, at the annual Schools’ Independence Rally at Victoria Park.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.