BREAKING: Matthews defeats Leacock by 1 vote

Hon St Clair Leacock Representative for Central Kingstown and Vice President of the NDP was defeated by Hon Roland Matthews for the post of 1st Vice President by one vote.

Matthews amassed 198 votes while Leacock garnered 197.

New comer Senator Barnwell captured 144 votes. Daniel Cummings was elected Chairman, former Chairman Linton Lewis did not seek re- election.

Retired Coast Guard Officer Tyrone James defeated long standing General secretary Allan Cruickshank 164 to 87.

Talk show host Margaret London was elected Assistant General Secretary with 192 votes, other contenders Clemroy “Bert” Francois gained 59, while Igal Adams gained 18 votes.

Recent graduate of the UWI Lavern King was elected PRO, defeating Israel Bruce 165 to 105.

The new Executive is as follows

President Hon Godwin Friday

Vice Presidents Hon Roland Matthews and Hon St Clair Leacock

Chairman Hon Daniel Cummings

General Secretary Tyrone James

Assistant General Secretary Margaret London

Treasurer Bernard Mills

PRO Lavern King

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *