SVG UN Voting Rights Suspended As Of 22nd January 2016

St Vincent and the Grenadines will join eight other UN Member States with no voting rights in the General Assembly at its 70th session.
A Member of the United Nations which is in arrears in the payment of its financial contributions to the Organization shall have no vote in the General Assembly if the amount of its arrears equals or exceeds the amount of the contributions due from it for the preceding two full years.
The General Assembly may, nevertheless, permit such a Member to vote if it is satisfied that the failure to pay is due to conditions beyond the control of the Member. (Article 19 of the Charter of the United Nations)
Five Member States are currently in arrears in the payment of their dues . However, on 12 October 2015, the General Assembly adopted resolution 70/2 by which it decided that the following Member States shall be permitted to vote in the General Assembly until the end of its 70th session:Comoros,Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome and Principe,Somalia and Yemen
As of 22 January 2016, the following nine Member States shall not be permitted to vote in the General Assembly at its 70th session.Bahrain,Burundi,Dominican Republic,Libya,Mali,Marshall Islands,Saint Vincent and Grenadines,Vanuatu and Venezuela.
St Vincent minimum payment necessary to reduce the amount owed on it’s contribution would amount to US 2155.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *